

MEMO April 22, 2019

**To:** District Engineers

From: Camille Thomason, P.E.

Director, Design Division

**Subject:** Revised Roadway Standards

The following changes have been made to the roadway standards sheets.

The standard sheets will be applicable to all new construction projects beginning with the August 2019 letting. The use of these sheets prior to that date is at the option of the district. The new standards are available from the Roadway Standards web page in Microstation® "dgn" and Adobe "pdf" format. See <a href="http://www.dot.state.tx.us/insdtdot/orgchart/cmd/cserve/standard/rdwylse.htm">http://www.dot.state.tx.us/insdtdot/orgchart/cmd/cserve/standard/rdwylse.htm</a> Please distribute this information to the appropriate district staff and area offices, as well as consulting engineers working on TxDOT projects.

Con low Tomasur

The following represents the standard sheets changed.

<u>TAU(M)(N)-19</u> The TAU(M)(N) narrow system is a new standard sheet which depicts a reusable, redirective, non-gating, proprietary crash cushion. The crash cushion can protect hazards up to 30 inches in width, and is available for use in both permanent or temporary work zone applications.

This crash cushion is available in both a MASH TL-3 and MASH TL-2 compliant systems.

**QUADGUARD(M10)(N)-19** The QUADGUARD(M10)(N) narrow system is a new standard sheet which depicts a reusable, redirective, non-gating, proprietary crash cushion. The crash cushion is approved exclusively for a 24" width system, and is available for use in both permanent or temporary work zone applications.

This crash cushion is available in a MASH TL-3 compliant system.

The following non-MASH compliant standards are removed from the list of available standards:

**TAU-II(N)-16** This crash cushion system is removed from the list of available standards.

**QUAD(N)-17** This crash cushion system is removed from the list of available standards.

If you have questions or need additional information concerning these standard details, please contact Kenneth Mora, P.E., Roadway Design Section Director, at (512) 416-2678.

CC: William L. Hale, P.E., ADM Randy C. Hopmann, P.E., ADM C. Michael Lee, P.E., ADM Graham Bettis, P.E., BRG Gina Gallegos, P.E., CST Daniel I. Stacks, P.E., MNT Peter Smith, P.E., TPP Michael A. Chacon, P.E., TRF James Stevenson, P.E., MNT George Villareal, P.E., TRF Jamie Farris, P.E., BRG Ujval Patel, FHWA Steve Ratke, FHWA **Procurement Division** Thomas Bohuslav, P.E., AGC